Pakistan Super League PSL Coaches 2018

Pakistan Super League PSL Coaches 2017

With the Pakistan Super League (PSL Coaches) set for its inaugural edition in February, additions are taking place to the rosters for both coaches and players.

Updated PSL Coaches 2018

Teams Director Head Bowling Batting Fielding  
Islamabad United Wasim Akram Dean Jones Shoaib Akhtar Hamza Siddiqui
Karachi Kings Mickey Arthur Mushtaq Ahmed
Peshawar Zalmi Abdul Rehman Mohammad Akram Andy Flower
Quetta Gladiators Moin Khan Ian Pont Julien Fountain
Lahore Qalandars Paddy Upton

Sanath Jayasuriya, who is a legend in Sri Lankan cricket and a player who helped revolutionize One Day International cricket during the 1996 cricket World Cup, joins his former team mate Chamida Vaas on the PSL coaching roster.

John Buchanan, the man who was the coach of the ODI World Cup winning Australian cricket team in 2003 and 2007, has also joined the PSL as a coach. Buchanan had coached in the Indian Premier League and the New Zealand team after parting ways with the Australian cricket team.

Former Indian pace spearhead, Venkatesh Prasad, has also joined the coaching roster of the PSL. Prasad has experience in coaching from his time as the bowling coach of the Indian cricket team. Despite the fractious relationship between India and Pakistan and no cricket being played between the two countries, Prasad’s addition to the PSL would be a good reminder that sports has no barriers.

Other new signings have some notable names including Australians Dean Jones, Steve Rixon, and Simon Helmot, England’s Mick Newell and Ian Pont, and South Africa’s David Nosworthy and Dale Benkenstein.

With names like John Buchanan, Sanath Jayasuriya, Venkatesh Prasad and Dean Jones joining the list of coaches who will eligible to coach in the PSL, the Pakistan Super League can boast of quality associated with it which will ensure better quality of cricket, more viewership and in turn better chances of success.

All the coaches who have signed up with the PSL Coaches roster will be part of a selection process where the franchises will choose their coaching panels from the roster.

Along with the renowned names joining the PSL Coaches roster, top international players like Chris Gayle, Kevin Pieterson, Shane Watson, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, James Anderson and Dwayne Bravo have already signed up for PSL.

The PSL is set to kick off on February 9, 2018 in Dubai and Sharjah with five teams participating in its inaugural edition.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here