World XI To tour Pakistan In September, Schedule, Players

World XI to tour Pakistan in September, Schedule, Players
World XI to tour Pakistan in September, Schedule, Players

South Africa’s Faf du Plessis has been named captain of the World XI team that is set to tour Pakistan next month for a three-match T20 series.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) agreed to support the series in a bid to help revive international cricket in Pakistan.

The ICC World XI and Pakistan series is set to get underway between September 12-19.

According to reports, Du Plessis, the current Proteas T20 and Test skipper, will captain the World XI side.

Hashim Amla is the second big name that is likely to come to Pakistan.

The team will play three T20Is in Lahore on September 12, 13 and 14 after arriving in the country on Sept 11, following a two day camp in Dubai.

The skipper of the squad, Faf du Plessis of South Africa says that he looks forward to his maiden tour to Pakistan and helping country restore the international cricket at home.

Former Zimbabwe captain Andy Flower will coach the ICC World XI and has been assigned to select the squad for the tour.

PCB chairperson Najam Sethi said on Monday that 15 players from seven countries had agreed to play in Pakistan. He said the names will be announced in a couple of days.

World XI Squad

Du Plessis to captain World XI in Pakistan tour

  • Faf du Plessis (SA) captain
  • Hashim Amla (SA)
  • Samuel Badree (West Indies)
  • George bailey (Australia)
  • Paul Collingwood (England)
  • Ben Cutting (Aus)
  • Grant Elliott (New Zealand)
  • Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh)
  • David Miller (SA)
  • Morne Morkel (SA)
  • Tim Paine (Aus) – wk
  • Thisara Perera (Sri Lanka)
  • Imran Tahir (SA)
  • Darren Sammy (WI)

Pakistan Team Squad

Sarfraz to captain Pakistan against World XI in Independence Cup.

Pakistan Squad for the Independence Cup is:

  • Sarfraz Ahmad (Captain / WK)
  • Ahmed Shahzad
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Shoaib Malik
  • Babar Azam
  • Imad Wasim
  • Muhammad Amir
  • Faheem Ashraf
  • Hasan Ali
  • Rumman Raees
  • Muhammad Nawaz
  • Usman Shinwari
  • Shadab Khan
  • Umar Amin
  • Aamir Yameen
  • Sohail Khan

Meanwhile, DG ISPR Maj Gen Asif Ghafoor has welcomed the PCB announcement in a tweet and said:

“We welcome Cricket Team World XI to Pakistan. Pakistanis are eagerly prepared to host them as a peace and sports loving nation.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here